Four Favorites: March

"We do not want merely to see beauty, though, God knows, even that is bounty enough.  
We want something else which can hardly be put into words--to be united with the beauty we see, 
to pass into it, to receive it into ourselves, to bathe in it, to become part of it." 
– C.S. Lewis.

First of all, can we please discuss how precious this little pin is!?! The Director of my museum (not “my” as in, “I own it”, but “my” as in, “I spend 40+ hours a week here”) was cleaning out his office and gave me this  little Keith Haring Foundation Pin!

Incase you’re not familiar, Keith Haring was a highly influential artist and AIDS activist  in the 1980’s. Here’s a blog post from another site dedicated entirely to what you see on this pin, “Radient Baby”

I spend a lot of time perusing the internet. Here are some artists I’ve discovered/re-discovered that I’m digging as of late. I haven’t exactly been making as much work lately as I’d like to (I’m trying to change that! I just bought 12 canvases! #thatswhyImalwaysbroke) but I still make a point to keep my eyes peeled for interesting artists/works that make me think, so the wheels never stop moving in my head.

In no particular order, here are some of my most recent artist crushes: (please please click the photos and links if you’re intrigued and want to know more about what you see. also, if you read this, leave me a comment and let me know! I’m totally okay with talking to myself on here, but i’d like to know if people actually read these, haha)

1. Jonathan Hobin – Photographer

Ottowa, Ontario

Website: http://www.jhobin.com/ / Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JonathanHobin.Art

“Jonathan Hobin is an award-winning and internationally noted photographer and art director. Hobin’s work draws on iconic literary, cinematic and historical references and popular culture to explore the darker – or at the very least, the more troubling-aspects of childhood, imagination and storytelling. via

Here’s the photo that I saw on Tumblr that made me look him up:

“The Twins”

I don’t think this needs much explanation. CNN actually did a story on this artist’s controversial images, which you can read below (click on the picture!)

Some children understand the 9/11 attacks better than you would think. I observed an artist’s lecture for a group of 5 year olds recently and the kids understood the basics of the tragedy. This photograph really reminded me of hearing those kiddos describe what happened in “little kid” terms. His other work is fantastic, also. Here are a few more images:

“Adam’s Apple”- Copyright © 2010 Jonathan Hobin

Not sure of the title of this one, but incase you didn’t catch the reference… the little boy represents Kim Jong Il.

(read about Kim Jong here)

White Nights

Diana’s Dead

https://i2.wp.com/www.designboom.com/cms/images/erica/playroom/playroom10.jpg

The Saints

2. Maya Gohill – Painter and Illustrator 

 Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

Website: http://www.mayagohill.com/

“Her artwork is derived from two significant components; her life’s experiences, and her life’s education. She incorporates her current ideologies with her classical based knowledge to develop the images she subsequently paints.”

Artist Maya Gohill

Fun Fact, Maya “was one of 100 contemporary artists invited by George Lucas to create a painting based on the Star Wars universe.” via

And here it is!

Wookie Family Portrait • oil on canvas • 29″x23″

I was initially drawn to this artists work coming across her painting which references some 19th century artworks that I love. I’m a little obsessed with 19th century art lately, so i was immediately intrigued. First, here’s what I’m assuming may be the historical reference for the following piece:

The Bath – Jean-Leon Gerome 1880-85

And here’s Maya’s work of the same name:

The Bath • oil on canvas • 30″x42

I also love this one:

Bingo Pyjama • oil on canvas • 16″ x 20″

From the Maya’s artist statement:

I seek to make art that is beautiful to look at, and provoking in thought. I describe my work as magical, whimsical, ironic, and truthful. Through it I seek out the true imagination – a free, unadulterated and often giddy, creative expression. I believe that this is where all things start, as nothing has ever been accomplished without first the existence of a dream or creative notion.”

3. Jean Béraud – Painter

(January 12, 1849 – October 4, 1935)

Saint Petersburg, Russia

Website: http://www.jeanberaud.net/ / Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_B%C3%A9raud

A “French Painters” blog post all about him! (An excellent post with lots of images, check it out):

In a nutshell, Beraud’s work makes me want to get dressed up and go out on the town!. “This French Impressionist painter and commercial artist  is noted for his paintings of Parisian life during the Belle Époque.”

this is him.

In the studio:

The Soirée by Jean Béraud, 1880 France

‘The Wedding Reception’

‘At the Bistro’

Béraud was originally trained as a lawyer. He never married, had no children and little is known of his private life. The Franco-Prussion war interrupted his studies so he turned to painting mainly scenes of life in the Parisian cafes, bistros, theaters, and streets.

‘Le Cafe de Paris’

‘The Letter’… (that smoke! so awesome!)

‘Waiting rue de Chateaubriand’

Because I love comparing, here’s Beraud’s “Absinthe” Drinkers (left) next to Degas’ painting of the same name.

3. Kate MacDowell– Sculptor (Porcelain)

Website: http://www.katemacdowell.com/

“Artist Kate MacDowell creates sculptures that respond to environmental stressors including climate change, toxic pollution, and gm crops. She takes the concept of these environmental issues and fuses them with myths, art history, figures of speech and other cultural touchstones to achieve these striking porcelain pieces of art. Often mixing aspects of man and nature in one piece she portrays the friction and discomfort with the disturbing implication that we too are vulnerable to being victimized by our destructive practices.via

Artist Kate MacDowell

Invasive Flora

From the Artist’s Statement: “I hand sculpt each piece out of porcelain, often building a solid form and then hollowing it out.  Smaller forms are built petal by petal, branch by branch and allow me the chance to get immersed in close study of the structure of a blossom or a bee.  I chose porcelain for its luminous and ghostly qualities as well as its strength and ability to show fine texture.  It highlights both the impermanence and fragility of natural forms in a dying ecosystem, while paradoxically, being a material that can last for thousands of years and is historically associated with high status and value.  I see each piece as a captured and preserved specimen, a painstaking record of endangered natural forms and a commentary on our own culpability.”

lure

Sparrow

Taking Root

solastalgia

I love love love these works! Definitely check her website, her sculptures are not only great examples of excellent craftsmanship.. but they are also extremely well documented (props to her photographer!). Anyone who’s been to art school understands that your work is sometimes only as good as you can describe and/or document it. I love the detail shots of pieces that get in there and show even the most intricate details and textures like theses:

cross-pollination (detail)

communicable (detail)

Well, those are a few of my latest obsessions! Which one do you like the most!?

Leave a Reply

