Xiaoze Xi 谢晓泽 “Amplified Moments”

I like to blog about where my brain is in terms of art. Sometimes I’m all over the place , sometimes it’s on a particular medium, times like these it’s on a particular artist. Working in a museum gives me the amazing opportunity to look at artwork all day everyday. My museum features world-renowned artists who often come to lecture and meet with students and staff. Not only do I get to gaze at their work day in and day out, I get to rub elbows and hang out, too. How cool!? I took this position for several reasons, but I wanted to have a cultivation of my life’s fine art education thus far by studying it from another perspective.

Right now, I’m learning all about Contemporary Chinese art from the role the view of both an independent viewer and a museum educator. I love being able to see (and sometimes participate in) exhibitions being installed or de-installed and ask whatever questions I want about the process. I’m slowly but surely becoming more familiar with the nitty gritty of the museum world from my cave under the staircase (you’ll only get that if you’ve seen my office, maybe I’ll photobooth it for y’all).

Anyway, my brain right now is focused on Xiaoze Xi, the newest artist showing in the Museum. Xiaoze has shown in museums and galleries all over the work, including: U.S., China, Korea, Belgium, Canada. “Amplified Moments (1993-2008) is the first exhibition and publication to look closely at work from each series of paintings and works in other media.”

FIRST I’d like to brag that I met him today and get to have a ton of time to pick his brain all week. I’m usually way too intimidated to have legitimate conversations with these artists, so to be honest, I just stare and listen, listen, listen… and of course, blog about it later (you know how I do!). The show’s opening and the artists’ lecture are  tomorrow, and I’ll be there. All Ears. All Eyes.

By the way, I’m stealing a lot of this info from places all over the net, but don’t worry, I’ll site them!

“Born in Guangdong, China, in 1966, Xie experienced the military aggression that crushed student protesters at Tiananmen Square in 1989. He subsequently decided to drop his study of architecture and switch to painting, moving to the United States in 1992. Although Xie—now a U.S. citizen and art professor at Stanford University—is often referred to as a “Chinese” artist, he’s more accurately called “Chinese-American,” and  his media-derived images depict politicians and uprisings throughout the world.

However, power and political upheaval are not as significant to Amplified Moments as viewers might be led to believe. What seems to interest Xie more than the “why” of protest and revolution is the “what”—he is fascinated by visual chaos and the density of crowds with flags hoisted high, a surging mass resembling pixels prior to becoming pixilated. In other words, that which is political in Xie’s work is not insignificant, but it primarily serves as a vehicle for visual expression within a specific period of time.” VIA METRO PULSE

February 3, 2007, L.G.D.S. (No. 2), 2008 Oil and acrylic on canvas, 80 x 60 in (203 x 152 cm) Courtesy of the artist

January – April 2004, M.N., 2004 Oil on canvas, 44 x 80 in (112 x 203 cm) Private collection, Chicago

Order (The Red Guards), 1999 Acrylic on paper, automobile lacquer on steel, wood, 125 x 213 x 30 in (318 x 541 x 77 cm) Courtesy of the artist

Leave a Reply

